The university partnership brings together the three participating universities Justus-Liebig-University (Giessen, Germany), Universidad de los Andes (Bogotá, Colombia) and North-West University (Potchefstroom/Mafikeng, South Africa).

Justus-Liebig-University Giessen

The Justus-Liebig-University is located in Giessen/Germany. Giessen is a small university town close to Frankfurt and the Rhein-Main area.

JLU Giessen was founded in 1607. Today it focusses on research and teaching in all areas. It has a strong focus on Social and Cultural Studies as well as Development Studies with the Center for international Development and Environmental Research and the SDG Nexus Network and Peace and Conflict Studies with the Research Centre (SFB) “Dynamics of Security” and the German-Colombian Peace Institute/Instituto Colombo-Alemán para la Paz (CAPAZ).

More information: “The University at a Glance”

Universidad de los Andes

The Universidad de los Andes is one of the leading universities in Colombia. Universidad de los Andes was founded in 1948, and it was the first private university in Colombia that was independent from political or religious movements or parties.

Today it is a highly internationalized university with excellence in research and teaching. Universidad de los Andes has a research center on the Sustainable Development Goals for Latin America. In  addition, together with JLU, it is a founding member of the Instituto CAPAZ and the SDG Nexus Network. Part of the cooperation between the two universities is also the establishment of Information Points on the respective campuses.

More information about the university

North West University

The North-West University (NWU) is an emerging South African university that also places a special focus on supporting students from non-academic households.

The NWU is committed to functioning as a unitary, integrated, multi-campus university that enables equity, redress and globally competitive teaching and research across all three of our campuses. Its core activities, teaching-learning and research, are intertwined with community engagement and innovation in our eight faculties, most of which serve both distance and contact students.

More information: #MyNWU

Header photo: Universidad de los Andes